Printer Friendly Version Print this thread
Email this thread to a friend eMail this thread to a friend
  • 20 Domain Name Lot for sale with website (In: I Want to Sell My Website)
  • Domain name scam (In: Domains, Hosting, DNS and Server Issues)
  • Domain name registration scam (In: General Search Engine Optimization)
  • Featured Web Site Template

    Hundreds More at Free Site Templates.com!

    Web Site Partners
    Sponsored Links
    Jet City Software
     
    Whos Here ?
    There are 0 guests and 1 members in the forums right now.
    Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
    Moderator(s): Prowler, jcokos
    Member Message

    wfbopt
    Joined: Eons Ago
    # Posts: 45

    View the profile for wfbopt Send wfbopt a private message

    Posted: 2006-May-10 17:16
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Here's a new one by me. This morning we received a call from Mary at a UK Registrar. Her story went like this: "We've received an order to purchase a number of domains similar to yours. The gentleman is from British Columbia and his name is Jay Maine and he's registered them for 10 years each so he's a serious competitor. You obviously have legal claim to that domain, so we're calling to give you the option to intervene." Essentially, they were claiming he'd ordered different extensions to our existing domains. "If he buys them, he'll get above you in the search engines. The more domains you have, the higher you'll rank in the Search Engines."

    Now there's a number of sketchy details and I suspect something's amiss. Has anyone else run into this?

    Is it true to any degree that you'll get higher Search Engine Rankings the more domains you have pointing to your site? I did a quick check and Google owns every possible extension of their name so it's clearly used to protect brand identity.

    I appreciate any feedback. Has anyone heard of this before?
    Thanks,
    Dave



    philh
    Joined: Sep 14, 2001
    # Posts: 3050

    View the profile for philh Send philh a private message

    Posted: 2006-May-10 17:23
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    >>Has anyone heard of this before?

    Only about three or four times a month from my clients!

    It's an old scam, been around a long time.

    Ignore it - they are scammers and no number of domain names is going to get you better positions in the engines.





    bhartzer
    Staff
    Joined: Jun 08, 2000
    # Posts: 7042

    View the profile for bhartzer Send bhartzer a private message

    Posted: 2006-May-10 17:24
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    You obviously have legal claim to that domain, so we're calling to give you the option to intervene

    This is a SCAM and a sales pitch that has been going on for several years in the UK.

    The so-called "registrar" calls companies telling them that they've got another individual about to buy their domain names and they'd better buy them to "protect" their identity.

    It's a sales pitch that's not much more than a scam. If you feel there are domain names out there that you should buy then fine--go buy them. But don't buy them from these scamsters.



    SportsGuy
    Staff
    Joined: Aug 30, 2002
    # Posts: 3603

    View the profile for SportsGuy Send SportsGuy a private message

    Posted: 2006-May-10 17:26
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    For protection of brand, yes - see that all the time.

    The other stuff is crap, I think - more domains owned and pointed the higher you'll rank in the engines.

    If ONLY it were that easy. If he wants to beat you in the rankings, he'll have to develop the site and do the work, just like you. That said, if he's a going concern with that domain, he may be able to swing better (or more) links at his versions, which could put him ahead of you.

    ...and, if he's real, and has a legit claim to the domain and prior business 9to when you started), there's a chance he could convince a judge to issue an injunction against you for using his "domain name" on a different extension.

    Not sure if this has ever actually happened, but I think I recall hearing about this sort of thing a couple years ago. I suspect he'd have to show that consumers might mistake your site for his, though.

    If he sells records and you do online geneology searches, then I think you could each use a version of www.records-search and be OK. Hope that example makes sense.

    If he's THAT interested in your extension, let them know what the "go away" price is. wink



    wfbopt
    Joined: Eons Ago
    # Posts: 45

    View the profile for wfbopt Send wfbopt a private message

    Posted: 2006-May-10 17:45
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Thanks for the quick responses. I'd never heard of it, but had a feeling I wasn't the first. They have a pretty polished pitch. Better than most SEO companies that call. Glad it brought domain protection up though. Easier to own your domains than worry about who else does and what they'll do under false pretenses.


    You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
    1. You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
    2. You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
    3. This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.

    If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions contained within.

    If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.

    If you are still experiencing problem, please read the Login Assistance Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.

    Switch to Advanced Editor and ... Create a New Topic or Reply to this Thread

    New posts Forum is locked
    © 1995  ·  iWeb, Inc  ·  DBA JimWorld Productions